The Seven Failure Modes with Matrix: FMEA & 7FM Functional Block Diagram

no comments
Jan 28 - Jan 28

Presented by John Lindland
President, QualSAT Inc.

The Seven Failure Modes are a revolutionary way to identify failure modes for a product design and its processes. However, 7FM is more than the seven ways a function can fail. It is about the temporal sequence of functions from inputs to primary function outputs. It means really understanding the functions and how their requirements relate to each other.

A function’s requirements are its conditions for success.
The function produced is a subsequent function’s requirements for success.
Each function will tell you what it needs to be successful and what happens if it fails.
The conversation begins and ends with the function!

These are major cause and effect categories. We will cover these topics and then review the architecture of a systems design in a 7FM Functional Block Diagram.

For the workshop, we’ll take the Functional Block Diagram and create a temporal fault state map. From that map, we will be able to follow one critical primary function fault state backwards to explore how fault states / failure modes create specific fault states / failure modes. The result is an understanding of how any specific fault state has specific causes and effects.

About the speaker:

John has over 35 years of applied experience in failure mode and effects analysis, quality methods, applied statistics, and root cause analysis, and the author of The Seven Failure Modes. A Master Black Belt, his clients and employers include Ford Motor Company, Key Plastics, and Fiat Chrysler Automobiles.