Who is Malcolm Baldrige?

Malcolm Baldrige was US Secretary of Commerce (1981-1987) and a leader in quality management. He helped create the US Quality Improvement Act of 1987 and in his honour the annual award is named after him (Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award). The US President presents the award.

The US is not unique in having a national quality award. In 1951 Japan established the Deming Prize. The United Nations lists 75 countries with national quality awards from Russia to Brazil from Singapore to Canada. These awards are backed-up by robust and proven methodologies such as the European Excellence Model and the US Criteria for Performance Excellence. This is serious stuff.

Living in the UK I have no idea the degree to which US businesses and their leaders aspire to win the Malcolm Baldrige award but I would imagine it moves quality high up the business agenda. I have discovered that we in the UK have a national quality award as well. When I look at some of the previous UK winners e.g. Rover and ICL it’s a bit of a worry. But it’s not entirely fair as a number of winners are strong independent businesses.

So where am I going with this? As Lean Six Sigma practitioners we are at the vanguard of creating a culture of business excellence. National awards are designed exactly for this purpose. So I am interested to understand their perceived value to see if I should review them in-depth. To answer the question I have set-up a small online survey to gauge peoples opinions.

If you click on the link below you will be taken to my online survey page. I have no idea what the response rate will be or of the accuracy of the responses. But I thought I would try it all the same. I will keep the surveyopen for a week or so depending on responses and will then publish the results.

Handpicked Content:   In His 100th Year, Juran Still an Advocate for Quality

Click here to run online survey


Comments 2

  1. Meikah

    Good luck on your survey. I took it and I look forward to reading about the results. You did a good job in giving this concise account about Malcolm Baldrige and the subtle way of pushing the award that’s been named for him. I agree with you. To be recognized for your Six Sigma (or even in any other effort) projects is an accomplishment in itself. It gives legitimacy to what you are doing and aiming to achieve.

  2. Robin Barnwell

    Hi Meikah

    I have 9 responses todate so will run for another week and see if gets any higher. I have been background reading MBNQA and suspect its links to TQM may be a disincentive.


Leave a Reply