iSixSigma

2-Factor 4-Level Full Factorial Design Help

Six Sigma – iSixSigma Forums General Forums Methodology 2-Factor 4-Level Full Factorial Design Help

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  ce_seek 5 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

ce_seek
    Participant

I’m new to DOE. I’m doing a full factorial design.

In my case, I have two factors each with 4 levels.

I want to know the main effects and the interaction effects, and establish an equation to predict the response.

However, I have seen in most examples that there are only 2 levels (high and low).

With this, I would like to ask if is it possible to conduct multiple linear regression with four levels?

If not, do I need to reduce my levels to 2?

Thank you!

Robert Butler
    Participant

The issue is this – the basic philosophy of experimental design is if you are going to see a difference in response when you change conditions your best chance of seeing that difference is by comparing the results for the extremes of the variables of interest. This is the point of two level factorial designs. Thus, if you take the extremes of the settings of your two variables and run the 4 point experimental design and replicate just one of those experiments (total 5 experiments) you can build a single model which will include your main effects and the interaction of the two terms.

You could custom build a 4 level factorial design but the big question is why would you want to do this? A 4 level design means you believe you have responses that would map to a cubic polynomial. Unless you happen to have, within the design space, something like a phase change I can’t think of any measured response of any kind of variable that would plot as a cubic function (and if you do have a phase change then you really need to go back and revisit a number of process issues before considering a design).